It was fun while it lasted...

So, my dreams of spending a summer in a wolrd-cup worthy country were shattered last week. We could not hold our own against Italy, even with a city full of supporters in pubs everywhere. There was no victory champagne, only drowning our collective sorrows. To make it worse, the game was far less than exciting.
Nevertheless, we marched to Old Town square donning our Czech fineries and celebrating in whatever way we felt comfortable (champagne, pilsner, etc), and cranning our necks to get a view of the screens. The PDA couples around us ended up being a lot more interesting than the game--but our presence was important. I think we felt as if we had our own personal victory, as we convinced our film teacher to cancel the first class for the game.
The commraderie was fun while it lasted, but unfortunately red and blue won't be filling the square anytime soon. We still will show our support for the wonderful game of football--but it is a bit dissappointing that we won't be included as Czechs or Americans.
But that's okay for all of you...because you still call it soccer.
;)
The strage juxaposition of the gothic buildings and the crazy screens and stages in the square. What a crowd.

Boys being boys.

Girls being girls.
(Robin, Marina, Me)


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home